Last Updated on
Mississippi state laws require you to purchase car insurance. However, car insurance is not needed when registering your vehicle or applying for your driver’s license. Read this article to learn more about Mississippi car insurance laws, requirements, programs and other auto insurance information.
Car Insurance Requirement in Mississippi
You must purchase liability insurance which covers the cost of property damages and injuries as a result of an accident where you are at fault. These are the minimum amounts for liability coverage:
- $25,000 per person for bodily injury
- $50,000 per accident for bodily injury
- $25,000 per accident for property damage.
Most drivers go for this option to meet the financial responsibility of car accidents, but you can also proof financial responsibility through:
- Posting a bond for the minimum coverage amounts
- Make a cash or security deposit same as the minimum coverage amounts.
Optional Mississippi Car Insurance
Mississippi car insurance providers also offer several optional coverage types which you may purchase to help protect you further.
- Collision coverage
- Comprehensive coverage
- Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage
- Medical payment coverage
- Rental car coverage
- Loan/lease gap coverage
- Roadside assistance/towing coverage.
NOTE: Leasing and financing companies usually require you to purchase comprehensive or collision car insurance if you are financing your vehicle.
Insurance Violations in Mississippi
This state has stringent fines and penalties if you are caught driving your car without the required minimum car insurance coverage.
Driving Without Car Insurance
If you are caught driving without the required car insurance, you will face the following penalties:
- A $1,000 fine
- A driver’s license suspension of 1 year.
If you buy Mississippi car insurance after you have been charged or show proof of insurance your driver’s license will not be suspended and your fine will be reduced.
Failure to Show Proof of Insurance
If you have car insurance but you fail to show proof of it through an insurance card, you will face a fine or citation. If you are charged and it is found that you were indeed insured, the court can waive the required fine.
SR-22 is a form that is filled as proof of financial responsibility. This form certifies that you will maintain the minimum liability insurance for a specific period of time. SR-22 is filled with your car insurance provider to:
- Reinstate a revoked or suspended driver’s license
- Prevent revocation or suspension of your driver’s license.
Alternative Insurance for High-Risk Drivers
Car insurance companies have the right to deny insurance coverage for high risk drivers. So, if you are considered a high risk driver, you can apply for insurance coverage through Mississippi Automobile Insurance Plan (MSAIP). Through this plan, Mississippi car insurance companies share the risk associated with high-risk drivers. To qualify for coverage through this plan:
- You must have a valid Mississippi driver’s license AND
- Your car must currently be registered in Mississippi.
Insurance policy through the MSAIP can be purchased through any car insurance company in Mississippi.
Car Insurance Assistance
Mississippi Insurance Department Consumer Services Division provides assistance with matters related to car insurance.
Requests for Help
For requests or questions, contact this department through the following means:
- By phone: (800) 562-2957
- By faxing your question or request to (601) 359-1077
- By mail: Mississippi Insurance Department Consumer Services Division P.O. Box 79 Jackson, MS 39205
- In person to: Wool folk State Office Building, 10th Floor 501 North West Street Jackson, MS 39201
- By e-mail: [email protected]
NOTE: Include your phone number and mailing address with your question or request.
To make a formal complaint against your car insurance company, you must fill the Consumer Complaint Form (Agent Complaint) or Consumer Complaint Form (Company Complaint) and submit it to Mississippi Insurance Department Consumer Services Division though:
- By faxing your form to (601) 359-1077
- By mail to: Mississippi Insurance Department Consumer Services Division P.O. Box 79 Jackson, MS 39205
Reporting Insurance Frauds
Car insurance frauds can be costly to car insurance companies and consumers. These frauds involve:
- Making a false claim
- Forging insurance documents
- Selling insurance without a license.
You can help fight frauds by contacting either:
- The Mississippi Insurance Department Consumer at (800) 562-2957
- The office of the Attorney General’s Insurance Integrity Enforcement Bureau, at (888) 528-5780.
Determining Your Car Insurance Rate
Mississippi car insurance rates are determined after comparing several factors, which include:
- Your driving history
- Car’s make and model
- Credit report
- Chosen deductibles.
Note that DUIs and DWIs points on your driver’s license can raise your insurance rates. Always maintain a clean driving history.
Check Your Driving Record
Having a bad driving history can lead to higher car insurance premiums. Check your MS driving history to see whether you qualify for cheaper car insurance.
Mississippi Car Insurance Discounts
You can save on your Mississippi car insurance by taking advantage of many discounts offered by most car insurance companies in this state. These discounts include:
- Good driver discounts
- Good student discounts
- Anti-theft device discounts
- Multi-car discounts.
Discounts can be a good way of getting cheap insurance rates, but the best way is through keeping a clean driving history.
Most Stolen Cars in Mississippi
If your car is always a candidate for theft, you are more likely to pay higher car insurance rates. This is the 2013 list of the most stolen cars in Mississippi according to www.nicb.org:
- Ford Explorer and Ford Pickup (Full Size)
- Chevrolet Pickup (Full Size)
- Chevrolet Impala
- Honda Accord
- Nissan Altima
- Dodge Pickup
- GMC Pickup
- Chevrolet Malibu
- Toyota Camry.