Last Updated on
The law in Connecticut requires all vehicles owners to insure their vehicles. In this article, we have outlined the basics of Connecticut car insurance requirements, alternatives, rates, rules and discounts.
Connecticut Car Insurance Requirements
The minimum coverage limits of CT car insurance cover are:
- A minimum of $20,000 for bodily injury, per person per accident
- A minimum of $40,000 for bodily injury, total per accident
- A minimum of $10,000 for property damage per accident.
If you purchase a vehicle in Connecticut, you may also apply for uninsured/underinsured vehicle coverage. This insurance cover helps you pay your medical bills if your vehicle is involved in an accident. It covers drivers who are not insured or those who have inadequate insurance cover. The minimum coverage limits of Connecticut uninsured/underinsured vehicle coverage are:
- $20,000 per person
- $40,000 total per accident.
Optional Car Insurance
You may also apply for optional car insurance coverage offered by most of Connecticut Car Insurance companies. Some of these include:
- Collision – Coverage that helps cover damages to your car as a result of accident
- Comprehensive – Covers all damages to your car not necessarily caused by accidents
- Rental car
- Emergency road service.
NOTE: Collision and comprehensive insurance cover are not mandatory in Connecticut. You may choose to purchase them or avoid them; but they are equally important. However, most banks in this state require you to purchase both comprehensive and collision insurance if you obtained the car through a loan or lease agreement.
Insurance and Registration
There are steps followed when registering your car in Connecticut. First, you need to fill Form H-13 commonly known as Registration and Certificate of Title form. This form has an insurance section where you are supposed to fill in the name of your insurance company and your policy number. Secondly, you must abide by Connecticut car insurance requirements by signing this form.
Insurance Violations in CT
Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) is the body that administers vehicle insurance matters. If your car insurance company decides to cancel your insurance cover, they must first report it to this department. DMV will then notify you about the cancellation by sending you a written warning notice. You will be given a final chance to purchase car insurance and pay a $200 fine as penalties for any violation you may have made. You need to comply with this notice. If you fail to respond, the DMV will send you a suspension warning. At this point, you may be called to take part in a hearing that may determine your car registration status. Any typical hearing may lead to:
- Loss of privilege to register your car or renew its registration
- Suspension of your car registration.
Avoiding Registration Suspensions
If your Connecticut car insurance company cancels your car insurance and you don’t want penalties, fines or financial loss that come as a result of registration suspension, you can return vehicle number plates to the nearby DMV offices and have them put on hold or cancelled. If you want to keep vehicle number plates for a vehicle that you use occasionally, you may request a liability insurance cancellation through your vehicle insurance company.
In Connecticut, you are required to carry both your car insurance ID card and registration certificate at all times. If you are stopped by a road traffic officer, you need to show them these documents. At this moment, if you don’t have these forms, you will face a fine not less than $50.
Alternative Insurance for High-Risk Drivers
There is good news for Connecticut drivers considered as high risk. They can purchase their car insurance coverage through either:
- An insurance company that provides non-standard insurance program or
- The Connecticut Automobile Insurance Assigned Risk Plan.
Non-Standard Car Insurance Market
If you find it hard to purchase your Connecticut car insurance through standard market, you can use non-standard car insurance market. Non-standard car insurance in Connecticut attracts higher rates. But they are less expensive when you compare them with Connecticut assigned risk plan. If you fail to get a reliable car insurance carrier through standard or non-standard market, you can use Connecticut Automobile Insurance Assigned Risk Plan.
Determining Your CT Insurance Premium
There are several factors that determine the rates of your car insurance premium. These include:
- Your driving record
- Your deductible
- Your car model, make, and year of manufacture
- Your area of residence
- Your credit score
- Overnight parking area.
Maintaining a Low Cost Premium
When shopping for Connecticut insurance coverage, always choose a company that offers discounts. Some of the discounts offered by most of insurance carriers in this state include:
- Good driver discounts
- Multi-car discounts
- Good student discounts
- Homeowner’s discounts
- Safety discounts
- Anti-theft device discounts.
While these discounts can save you a lot of money, the best way to keep your car insurance premium low is by maintaining a good driving record.
Most Stolen Cars in Connecticut
If your car is a candidate for thieves, you are more likely to pay more when purchasing Connecticut car insurance. The 2013 list of the most stolen cars according to www.nicb.org include:
- Honda Accord and Honda Civic
- Nissan Maxima
- Toyota Camry
- Nissan Altima
- Jeep Cherokee/Grand Cherokee
- Acura Integra
- Dodge Caravan
- Ford Pickup (Full Size)
- Toyota Corolla.