Last Updated on
Car insurance enables you to cover costs associated with accidents that your car may be involved in. So, if you own a vehicle within Delaware State, a car insurance is inevitable. In this article, we have outlined the basics of Delaware car insurance requirements, rates, rules and discounts.
Requirements of Delaware Car Insurance
Delaware’s car insurance requires you to have liability insurance. This type of insurance will help you pay for costs associated to property damage, death and injuries resulting from accidents caused by your car. The minimum coverage limits under this insurance cover are:
- $10,000 for property damage, per accident
- $15,000 for death or injury per person
- $30,000 for total death or injury, per accident (this is applicable on multiple victims of the said accident).
Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
If you purchase or own a vehicle in Delaware, their state law requires you to process a personal injury protection (PIP) insurance. This type of insurance is commonly referred to as “no-fault car insurance”. Unlike liability insurance that help you pay costs resulting from your car accident, PIP will help you cover medical bills and other expenses regardless of who caused the accident. The minimum coverage limit requirements for Personal Injury Protection insurance are:
- $30,000 for bodily injury to multiple accident victims per accident
- $15,000 for bodily injury to one person per accident
- $5, 000 for funeral expenses.
Optional Car Insurance
There are several other optional Delaware Car Insurances that you may consider for your vehicle. These are insurance covers that may help you cover other unexpected costs resulting from accidents involving your car. Most car insurance companies in Delaware offer the following types of Optional Car Insurances:
- Collision – Coverage that helps cover damages to your car as a result of accident
- Comprehensive – Covers all damages to your car not necessarily caused by accidents
- Uninsured/underinsured – These types of vehicle insurance provide cover to drivers who don’t have car insurance or inadequate car insurance
- Towing and labor.
NOTE: Both comprehensive and collision insurance covers are not mandatory in the state of Delaware. But these two coverages are important, and you may include them as part of your lease agreement or car’s finance.
Delaware Proof of Insurance
Delaware DMV is the body that administers Delaware car insurances. This body performs various audits on all registered vehicles in Delaware to ensure that they are properly insured. If your vehicle is to be audited by this body, you must submit Form FR-19 from your car insurance company. This form is simply Delaware Insurance Certification form and it must be submitted through your vehicle insurance company. You may need this form to show proof of insurance if you are asked to do so by road traffic officers.
Penalties for Driving Uninsured
If you are convicted driving a car without a required insurance, under Delaware car insurance, then the penalties are:
- A minimum of $1,500 fine on 1st offenders
- A minimum of $3,000 fine for each offense committed within 3 years
- 6 months driver’s license suspension.
Delaware Automobile Insurance Plan
Most car insurance companies in Delaware and other states have a right to turn down high risk divers who have poor records of driving that result to accidents. If you are unable to find a good insurance company for your vehicle elsewhere, you may use Delaware Automobile Insurance Plan (DAIP). This body may also turn down drivers with poor driving records. All Delaware car insurance companies are members of Delaware Automobile Insurance Plan (DAIP). So you may request for DAIP coverage through any auto insurance company in Delaware.
Determining Your Car Insurance Rates
There are several factors that determine Delaware car insurance rates. These include:
- Your driving record
- Your age and gender
- Your marital status
- Your car’s properties that include make, model and year of manufacture
- Your set deductibles (this includes amount payable monthly towards insurance claim)
- The amount of coverage sought.
If you are looking for low insurance rates, be sure to maintain a good driving record that is accident free. You can save on your car insurance by taking advantage of DE Insurance Discounts. These are some of the discounts that most of Delaware car insurance companies may offer:
- Safety device
- Good driver
- Good student
- Defensive driver
- Anti-theft device.
Most Stolen Cars in Delaware
Purchasing a car or owning a car that is often a target for theft under normal security measures can increase your car insurance rates. According to 2013 report from www.nicb.org, the following is a list of automobiles that are targeted for theft in Delaware:
- Honda Civic
- Chevrolet Pickup (Full Size) and Chevrolet Impala
- Honda Accord
- Ford Pickup (Full Size)
- Nissan Altima
- Dodge Caravan
- Nissan Maxima
- Ford Explorer
- Jeep Cherokee/Grand Cherokee.