Last Updated on
Missouri law requires all drivers to purchase car insurance coverage to pay the cost of property damage and injuries resulting from accidents that they cause. You can fulfill this requirement by purchasing the minimum required liability car insurance. Continue reading this article to learn more about Missouri car insurance requirements, policies, programs, fraud and discounts.
Missouri Car Insurance Requirements
Liability Coverage is mandatory in Missouri. This insurance policy will help you pay the cost of property damage and injuries resulting from an accident that you cause. The following are the minimum limits of liability coverage:
- $25,000 for bodily injury, per person
- $50,000 for total bodily injury if multiple people are injured in an accident
- $10,000 for total property damage.
Uninsured Motorist Coverage
Uninsured motorist coverage is also required as part your Missouri car insurance policy. This policy pays for injuries that result from an accident with a driver with inadequate insurance cover, or a driver without insurance. The minimum limits for uninsured motorist coverage are the same as those of liability coverage. This policy only covers injuries but not property damage.
Alternative Ways to Comply
While Missouri car insurance policy is the most preferred way of fulfilling financial obligations of car accidents, you can also fulfill if with the legal requirements by submitting one of the following to the DOR:
- Proof of financial responsibility for damages you might cause in an accident. The accepted things are surety bond, real estate bond and cash deposit
- Certificate of self-insurance.
Optional Car Insurance
To protect you more financially after an accident, you are required to add several different types of car insurance coverage to your policy. You need to consider the following common optional coverage types when shopping for car insurance:
- Collision insurance
- Medical payments
- Rental car reimbursement
- Emergency roadside assistance.
Proof of Insurance
Missouri car insurance laws require you to show proof of insurance when:
- Registering your vehicle
- Renewing your plates.
In addition, you must always carry proof of insurance all the time in your car.
Penalties for Failure to Show Proof
You must show proof of insurance when you are stopped by a traffic officer or when you get involved in an accident. If you fail, you will be subjected to a ticket. The officer will also report to the Department of Revenue (DOR) that you were caught driving without car insurance. DOR will then request you to show proof of insurance failure to which you will face driver’s license suspension.
Insurance Violations in Missouri
If you are caught violating Missouri car insurance laws (i.e. driving without car insurance), you will face the following penalties and fines:
- Assessment of 4 points on your driving record (8 points will lead to 8 months suspension)
- Issuance of an order of supervision (your insurance status will be monitored by the Driver License Bureau)
- Suspension of your driver’s license.
In Missouri, if you are caught driving without the minimum amounts of car insurance, you will face a number of penalties. Your driver’s license will be suspended for up to a period of 1 year. After the suspension, you can only reinstate your license by:
- Paying a fine ranging from $20 to $400, depending on the number of suspensions
- Showing proof of insurance
- If an accident was involved, you will be required to file an SR-22.
If you are involved in an accident in which you didn’t have car insurance, you must file SR-22. This is a certification that you will carry a minimum insurance coverage for a specific time period. Note: An SR-22 is not insurance, but a form certifying that you will hold the required car insurance in future.
Insurance Policy Cancellations
If you have held insurance for at least 60 days, your car insurance provider cannot cancel that policy for at least one year, except in the following circumstances:
- Your driver’s license is suspended. However, your policy cannot be cancelled if it covers multiple people
- You haven’t paid your premium.
- If your car insurance company intends to cancel your policy, they must provide a 30 days written notice before the cancellation date.
Missouri Automobile Insurance Plan
Drivers with poor driving records may have a difficult time in finding a car insurance company to insure their vehicles. If you find it hard to get a car insurance company through open market, you can apply for car insurance policy through the Missouri Automobile Insurance Plan. This association helps high-risk drivers to get car insurance. But remember car insurance through MOAIF plan comes with higher premiums because of the risks involved.
Questions and Concerns
Car insurance can be complicated. The state’s Department of Insurance’s Division of Consumer Affairs offers help with issues related to car insurance, such as fraud and complaints. For more information regarding Missouri Department of Insurance’s Division of Consumer Affairs services, contact (800) 726-7390.
Filing a Complaint
If you are unable to resolve your dispute with your car insurance provider, you can file a complaint at the Missouri Department of Insurance’s Division of Consumer Affairs through the following means:
- Online through their website
- By faxing the Consumer Complaint Form to (573) 526-4898
- Mailing the form to the address on the form.
Determining Your Car Insurance Rates
Several factors go into determining your car insurance rates in Maryland. Missouri car insurance providers use the following factors to calculate your insurance rates:
- The make and model of your car
- Your driving record
- Your car insurance claim history
- Your gender
- Your age
- Your marital status
- Your credit history.
Auto Insurance Discounts
One great way to save on car insurance is by looking for a car insurance company that offers discounts. The following are some of the discounts that most car insurance companies may offer:
- Multiple-policy discounts
- Multi-car discounts
- Paid-in-full discounts
- Switching providers discounts
- Automatic payment discounts
- Good student discounts
- Homeowner’s discounts.
These discounts can save you a lot of money, but the best way to obtain cheap insurance for your car is by maintaining a clean driving record.
Most Stolen Cars in Missouri
If you are driving a car that is always targeted by thieves, you are likely to pay higher insurance rates. This is the 2013 list of the most stolen cars in Missouri according to www.nicb.org:
- Chevrolet Pickup (Full Size)
- Ford Taurus and Ford Pickup (Full Size)
- Dodge Caravan
- Dodge Pickup (Full Size)
- Jeep Cherokee/Grand Cherokee
- Chevrolet Impala
- Honda Accord
- Pontiac Grand Prix
- GMC Pickup.