Last Updated on
Nevada law requires all drivers to purchase liability insurance to protect them in case of an accident. Drivers without valid car insurance are subjected to stringent fines and penalties. Read below to learn more about Nevada car insurance law, requirements, programs, and rates.
Car Insurance Requirements in Nevada
If you are a driver in Nevada, you must purchase liability insurance to cover the cost of property damage and injuries resulting from an accident that you are at fault. The following are minimum limits of liability coverage:
- $15,000 of bodily injury coverage per person
- $30,000 of bodily injury coverage per accident
- $10,000 of property damage coverage.
You must provide proof of insurance to the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) when:
- You register your car for the first time
- You renew your registration.
NOTE: If you are a new resident in Nevada, you must register your vehicle within 30 days of establishing your residency. The DMV requires your policy number and other relevant information appearing on your car insurance card. So make sure you carry this card with you. The DMV uses an online verification system to verify the information appearing on your insurance card.
Optional Nevada Car Insurance
You also need optional car insurance coverage to protect you further. Common types of optional car insurance coverages include:
- Collision coverage
- Comprehensive coverage
- Uninsured & underinsured motorist coverage
- Medical payments coverage
- Rental reimbursement coverage
- Towing and labor coverage
- Guaranteed asset protection coverage.
NOTE: If you are financing your car through a loan or lease agreement, both comprehensive and collision car insurance coverages are needed.
Driving Without Car Insurance
If you are caught driving your car without the required minimum insurance cover, your driver’s license and car registration will face suspension.
Notification of Suspended Car Insurance
Nevada has a LIVE system that checks your car insurance status throughout the year especially when you register or renew your vehicle registration. If there is no insurance information about your vehicle, you will be notified in written. You must respond within 15 days or face vehicle registration suspension. You can respond to the notice online through Nevada DMV’s website.
- Upon responding to the notice, you will receive either: Immediate confirmation that your car insurance information has been updated OR A pending notification. This tells you that DMV is awaiting record verification from your car insurance provider.
- You will be notified in written on your car registration suspension if: You fail to respond to the initial notification within 15 days OR Your car insurance company fails to respond to DMV’s verification request within 20 days.
If your car registration is suspended, you must pay a fine of $250 to get it reinstated.
Insurance Violation Penalties
The remedies for driving without car insurance depend on:
- The duration of your car insurance lapse
- The number of insurance violations that you have committed.
If you are caught driving without car insurance, you will face the following penalties:
- Car registration suspension. You will be required to pay $250 to $750 fee to re-register your car
- Fines of up to $1000 based on the length of lapse of your car insurance
- Filing of SR-22 insurance for 3 years for not having car insurance for 91 days or more
- Driver’s license suspension for at least 30 days.
If the accident in which you were at fault and without insurance results into property damage worth $750, then your vehicle’s registration and driver’s license will be automatically suspended.
You must file SR-22 certification if you are caught violating insurance laws and other violations. Remember an SR-22 is not insurance, but a guarantee that you will hold minimum required coverage for a specific period. In Nevada, it is normally 3 years period. Your must file this form through your car insurance company, who must then send it to the Nevada DMV.
Driving Without Proof of Insurance
You must carry proof of insurance (insurance ID card) with you all the time when you are driving. This card is issued by your car insurance company and must be presented to a police officer when you are pulled over the road or when an accident occurs.
Car Insurance Regulation
Nevada Division of Insurance (DOI) is the body that is responsible for regulating insurance matters. This body also deals with car insurance complaints and frauds.
Questions or Complaints
For any concern or question regarding your car insurance, contact the Nevada Division of Insurance at:
- Northern Nevada at (775) 687-0700
- Southern Nevada at (702) 486-4009.
If you have any complaint you can get in touch with the DOI through the following means:
- Online through DOI website
- By mail or fax: Send the Consumer Complaint Form to the address or fax listed on the form.
Car Insurance Fraud
Every year, Nevada car insurance companies lose huge sums of money through car insurance frauds. The financial burden that these frauds put on insurance companies may trickle down to increase insurance premiums. Some of these car insurance frauds involve:
- Falsifying injuries
- Falsifying property damage
- Staging of car accidents.
You can report these frauds to the Nevada Department of Insurance or Nevada Attorney General Office’s by mail or telephone:
- Mail the suspected fraud report to the address on the form
- By phone at (800) 266-8688.
Nevada Car Insurance Rates
Insurance companies use certain factors when calculating your Nevada car insurance rates. These factors include:
- Driving record
- Age and gender
- Marital status
- Past claims
- Car’s make and model
- Credit report.
Traffic Violations and Car Insurance
Almost all car insurance companies use driving record when calculating your car insurance rates. Committing many traffic violations can raise your car insurance rates because you are considered a high-risk driver. The best way to get the cheap car insurance policy is by keeping a clean driving record.
Car Insurance for High-Risk Drivers
Car insurance companies have the right to deny insurance coverage for high risk drivers. So, if you are considered a high risk driver, you can apply for insurance coverage through Nevada Automobile Insurance Plan (NAIP). Through this plan, Nevada car insurance companies share the risk associated with high-risk drivers. Nebraska requires all car insurance companies to participate in the NAIP to ensure that all drivers considered high risk are insured. To get started, you can apply for coverage to NAIP through any local car insurance agent in Nebraska. For more information about the NAIP insurance cover, contact WAAIP:
- By telephone: (800) 227-4659
- Via e-mail: [email protected]
Nevada Car Insurance Discounts
Nevada car insurance companies may offer discounts for:
- Multiple vehicles
- Multiple policies
- Safety and anti-theft devices
- Good driver.
There are also special discounts for drivers over 55 years old and teens with driving education courses.
Most Stolen Cars in Nevada
Driving a car that is always targeted by thieves may increase your car insurance rates. According to www.nicb.org, the 2013 most stolen car in Nevada include:
- Chevrolet Pickup (Full Size)
- Honda Civic and Honda Accord
- Ford Pickup (Full Size)
- Toyota Camry
- Dodge Pickup (Full Size)
- Nissan Altima
- Nissan Sentra
- Toyota Corolla
- Saturn SI.