Last Updated on
In the event of registering your car in Wyoming, you must be able to prove your financial responsibility for damages in order to qualify for that coverage. The best and easiest way of fulfilling this legal requirement is by purchasing the minimum amounts of liability car insurance.
Car Insurance Requirements in Wyoming
The Wyoming law requires each accident to be covered by the following minimum liability coverage per accident:
- $50,000 total for death or injury to multiple people in a single accident
- $25,000 for injury or death, per person
- $20,000 for property damage.
Uninsured Motorist Coverage
In the event of a car accident caused by uninsured driver, your uninsured motorist coverage will help you cover for the injuries to you and your passenger. The same will also apply to the driver whose car insurance is underinsured. In Wisconsin, you are required to have a car insurance policy that meets the following minimum coverage requirements per accident for underinsured and uninsured coverage:
- $300,000 for total injuries per accident
- $100,000 for injuries per person.
This insurance does not cover Property damage.
To protect you more financially after an accident, you are required to add several different types of car insurance coverage to your policy. You need to consider the following common optional coverage types when shopping for car insurance:
- Collision – Helps you pay for damages caused by your car accident related to traffic
- Comprehensive – Helps pay for damages caused by your car’s accident following non-traffic factors such as fire, collisions with animals and theft
- Medical payments – Helps cover your medical costs due to injuries following your car accident
- Rental reimbursement
- Towing and labor.
Car Insurance Violations
You’ll be fined a fee of $750 and up to 6 months of jail if caught driving without car insurance. But if you were unable to provide proof of having insurance during a traffic stop, though you were insured at the time, then your fine is just $10.
Committing certain violations might require you to file proof of financial responsibility, SR-22 certificate (also referred to as SR22 insurance). The following is what might make you file an SR-22:
- If your driver’s license is suspended
- If you have been convicted of certain offenses
- If you failed to pay judgment fines
- If you drove or owned a car involved in an accident.
Generally, you must maintain your SR-22 filing for a period of 3 years.
For any reason within the first 60 days of your coverage, your insurance company is obliged to cancel your car insurance policy at any time. After your policy has been in effect for more than 60 days, it can be canceled only for the following reasons:
- Suspended registration
- Nonpayment of premium
- Fraud application.
A notice of 10 days is given by an insurer before cancellation.
If nonrenewal is a result of lack of payment of premium for renewal and lack of payment of premium for the expiring policy, your license cannot be renewed.
Wyoming Automobile Insurance Plan
Though it’s your right in Wyoming to be offered insurance, auto insurers have the right also to refuse you for coverage if they consider you a high-risk driver. If you fail to find an insurer in the open market, you may apply for insurance through the Wyoming Automobile Insurance Plan (WAIP).
Questions and Concerns
You can call the Wyoming Department of Insurance at (800) 438-5768 or (307) 777-7401 if you need assistance understanding the terms of your insurance policy.
Filing a Complaint
If you’re unable to solve issues with insurance provider, the Department will assist you. You can take any of the following steps to request help with your complaint:
- Fill the online request
- Download and fill the Consumer Request for Assistance (then Mail or fax the form to the provided address/number on the form)
- Render your complaint via the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) website.
Car Insurance Fraud
Common forms of car insurance fraud include:
- Falsifying the extent of property damage
- Falsifying injuries
- Staging car accidents.
You can report suspected insurance fraud to the NAIC by filling out their online form.
Determining Your Car Insurance Rates
In Wyoming, several factors help insurance companies determine specific car insurance rates. In comparing car insurance quotes, you need to keep in mind that the following factors will be followed in determining your premium:
- Your age and gender
- The main uses for your car
- Your deductibles
- How much coverage you get
- Your car’s credit history, Make, Model and Year
- The primary location where your car is kept
- Your driving record
- Your insurance history.
Car Insurance Discounts
Taking advantage of Discounts is the greatest way of saving money on car insurance. The following are the common discounts offered by most of Wyoming car insurance companies:
- Multi-car discount
- Homeowner’s discount
- Good driver discount
- Good student discount
- Defensive driving
- Vehicle safety
Remember to ask about any discounts for which you could be eligible in Wyoming when shopping around for the lowest car insurance rates. Having a good driving record is the easiest way of getting a cheap quote and it must show a safe driving history free of violation.
Most Stolen Cars in Wyoming
Cars with high-risk of theft are bound to attract higher rates for car insurance. The following are the most stolen cars in the state of Wyoming in 2013 as provided in www.nicb.org:
- GMC Pickup (Full Size)
- Chevrolet Tahoe
- Honda Accord
- Ford Pickup (Full Size)
- Chevrolet Pickup (Small Size)
- Chevrolet Impala
- Chevrolet Trailblazer
- Dodge Pickup (Full Size)
- Dodge Durango
- Chevrolet Pickup (Full Size).