Last Updated on
Buying or selling has been a headache to many people; more to those who know nothing about cars. This is not supposed to be the case. The state of Florida has a wide range of sources and documents with informative information on how to complete a sale or purchase.
Buying Used Car Sales
Florida lemon law does not cover used vehicles. So, before you buy a vehicle, make sure you are equipped with enough information about that vehicle. The Department of Highway Safety & Motor Vehicles (HSMV) in Florida has provided informative guides for Florida residents who plan to buy used vehicles. These guides contain information such as pricing, questions to ask the dealer, financing, warranties and other useful information.
Title Transfer and Registration
Once you purchase a new or used car in Florida, you need to title and register it in your name. If you purchase your car from a dealership, they will handle all the required paperwork on your behalf. But if you purchase it from a private seller, you need to handle paperwork for registration and titling at your local DMV office. The following is a list of applicable forms you need in order to register and title your newly purchased car in your name:
- Certificate of Title Application.
- Vehicle Identification Number form.
- Odometer Verification form.
- License Plate Rate Chart.
- Notice of Sale and/or Bill of Sale.
- Application for a Duplicate Title, if applicable.
Protect Yourself When You Sell
It is the responsibility of the buyer to register the car that you had sold to him within 30 days from the sale date. If the buyer fails to do so within the stated period, it creates legal issues since you are the registered owner of that car. To avoid such a liability, as a seller, you need to fill out and submit the Notice of Sale to your local county DMV tax collector’s office. You must do so within 30 days from the date of vehicle sale. This allows the Department of Highway Safety & Motor Vehicles (HSMV) in Florida to show in their records that vehicle is sold. This also removes your registration details from their database. Therefore, the buyer who has purchased the vehicle must register and title it in their name in order to legally drive it.
Buying or Selling a Vehicle without a Title
It is illegal to buy or sell a vehicle without a title. A title is needed to show proof of vehicle ownership. If the title is missing, ask the seller to obtain a duplicate copy from the HSMV and give it to you.
Buying or Selling a Vehicle without a Registration
Vehicle registration papers are not required when buying or selling a vehicle in Florida. You only need to obtain the title certificate from the seller in order to register the vehicle in your name at the HSMV.