Car Buying and Selling Regulations in Georgia

Last Updated on

When buying or selling a new or used car in Georgia, you need to do your homework well. You need to be equipped with enough information to help you decide the best car for you. Research on the various buyers guides, magazines and motor vehicle blogs to determine the car that is in line with your taste, lifestyle and budget. You also need to research on the insurance costs, vehicle values and crash test results. Once you buy the car, you will need to register and title it in your name. Be sure you have all the paperwork needed in order to register your car with the Georgia DMV. To get your tags, take the following to your local Tax Commissioner’s Office:

  • Bill of sale.
  • Certificate of origin or the original title.
  • Appropriate fees and taxes.

To apply for the original title, you need to pay $18 fee. To apply for a replacement title, you need to pay $8 fee. You also need to pay sales tax at the time of registering and titling the vehicle. The state assesses numerous penalty fees for late registration. You must register your newly purchased vehicle within 30 days from the date of purchase if you want to escape the penalty.

Buying Without a Title or Registration

If you are selling a 1985 or older vehicle in Georgia, a title will not be required. You will only need the Bill of Sale when you register the vehicle in your name. So be sure to take the bill of sale with you to your local Tax Commissioner’s Office. If the car is newer than 1985, a title is required.

Tips for Buying a Car

A few tips for buying a car:

  • Do your homework well. Determine which type of car fits your budget and lifestyle. Do some research on consumer guides, forums and comparison guides to get more information about the car you intend to purchase.
  • Test drive the car before purchase. You will want to check whether the car is comfortable. To do so, you will need to check the head space and the leg room while driving it.
  • Check on insurance rates for the car you are purchasing. Insurance rates depend on the make, model, body type and year of the vehicle. Some vehicles attract higher insurance rates and this can be costly in the long run.
  • The next step is to get the vehicle history report for that car. This report provides a detailed history of car accidents, registration details, damages and repair history, odometer reading and other crucial information.
  • Hire a qualified mechanic to inspect the vehicle before purchase. Some vehicles have hidden problems that can’t be examined by just the look.
  • Negotiate the best price for that vehicle. If you are new in the vehicle industry, you may be fooled into paying more than you should. Armed with information from price comparison sites or guides, quote a price that is lower than the asking price. You will then negotiate upwards until you reach a compromise price.

Tips for Selling Your Car

  • Determine the best price for your vehicle. There are several ways to do this, but the most common one in Georgia in the Kelly Blue Book. This enables you to print out the current market value for the vehicle you are selling. You may show this value to your potential buyers when negotiating the fair price for your vehicle.
  • You may also choose to advertise the vehicle in your local guides, online or in your local newspaper.
  • Make sure your car is thoroughly cleaned up. It is also advised to take it for repair before selling it.
  • Remove the license plates from the car. The new owner will have to apply for new license plates.