Last Updated on
Once you purchase a vehicle in Idaho, you have to register and title it in your name within 30 days from the purchase date. If you fail to do so, you will face a $20 penalty for late registration.
How to Title and Register the Car in Idaho
You will be allowed to register and title a vehicle that you have purchased from Idaho dealers and one that you will purchase from an out-of-state dealer or private party.
Vehicles Purchased From Idaho Dealers
If you purchase a vehicle from Idaho dealership, the dealer will handle all the required paperwork for vehicle registration and titling on your behalf. They will prepare and submit the documents required to transfer the title into your name to the local county assessor’s office.
Vehicles Purchased From Out-of-state Dealers or private seller
You will need to obtain the title from the seller to help you register and title the vehicle in your name. You will need to submit the title plus the title application form to your county assessor’s vehicle licensing office. If you have purchased a vehicle from Out-of-state Dealer or a private seller and you are financing that vehicle through a bank or any other financing institution in Idaho, the paperwork for vehicle registration and titling will be handled by the financing institution. They will put a lien on the vehicle until you pay off the loan. If you have purchased a vehicle from Out-of-state Dealer or a private seller and you are financing that vehicle through a bank or any other financing institution from out-of-state, the institution will submit all the paperwork for that vehicle to your county assessor’s vehicle licensing office. You will then visit the office to register and title the vehicle into your name.
Steps of selling a vehicle in Idaho
Provide the buyer with the title that was issued in your name. If the title is missing, apply for a duplicate copy with the Idaho Transportation Department and hand it over to the buyer. Simply fill out the seller’s section and sign it. If you are selling a 10 year old vehicle or less, fill in the odometer reading on the back of the title or on the separate document. Write in the vehicle’s selling price on the back of the title. If the space on the back of the title is not enough, obtain the bill of sale form and fill in the sale price and other application information. Then, you should provide the buyer with the bill of sale that you filled. This document must include the vehicle’s description, the statement of sale, the vehicle’s purchase price, the purchase date and the seller’s name, signature and address. You will also need to keep a signed copy of the bill of sale for your records. After selling your vehicle, you will also need to file a Release of Liability Statement. According to Idaho code, section 49-526, you are required to complete this statement and submit it to the county motor vehicle registration office within 5 days after vehicle delivery. You will also need to pay the filling fees. This removes you from being accountable or reliable should the new owner cause an accident that will lead to injury or property damage. Filing of this statement will also remove you from any reliability of abandoned vehicle infractions and parking tickets. In the case that the vehicle has been abandoned and nobody has claimed it from the tow yard within a week from the tow date, if you did not follow through on the release of liability, you are looking at an infraction as the owner of record. You should also remove your license plates from the vehicle that you have sold. These license plates belong to you, since the buyer will be required to apply for his or her own. You can then decide to transfer them to another vehicle that you have purchased.