Last Updated on
Regardless of whether you are buying or selling a vehicle in Connecticut, there are things you need to think of. Generally, you need to think of things like:
- Transferring the vehicle's title.
- Ordering a vehicle history report or VIN check.
- Completing a bill of sale.
- Registering the vehicle.
- Canceling or purchasing a car insurance policy.
- Removing existing license plates.
- Passing a vehicle emissions inspection test.
Additionally, both parties need to be ware of various protections afforded to them when making a vehicle transaction. In this article, you will get more information about new and used car buying or selling regulations in Connecticut.
Buying a Vehicle in Connecticut
When buying a new or used vehicle in Connecticut, you have to do some research in order to get the best value for the vehicle you are purchasing. You will need to be aware of some legal protections on new and used vehicles. If you intend to purchase a car from a private seller, you will need to be more diligent when doing your research. Basically, you will be responsible for protecting yourself from a poor deal.
Buying a Used Vehicle in Connecticut
If you are purchasing a used car from registered dealer, the car will be protected by a warranty. The warranties that dealers provide to cover used car that they sell include:
- A 6 year old car or less, valued between $3,000 and $5,000, should be covered by a warranty for 1, 500 miles or 30 days (whatever comes first).
- A used car valued at $5,000 or more, should be covered by a warranty for 3, 500 miles or 60 days (whatever comes first).
- A 6 year old vehicle or more valued at $3,000 or less should not be covered by a warranty. However, the dealer has to put a sticker on its window telling potential customers that it is being sold “as is.”
If you are purchasing a used car from a private seller, there is no warranty required for protection. Once the vehicle exchanges hands from the seller to the buyer, the problems that may arise belong to the buyer. The seller will not be held responsible. So as a buyer, it is recommended that you obtain the vehicle history report for the used car that you are purchasing. Be sure to apply for a title transfer and register your vehicle in your name. You also need to purchase minimum car insurance for the vehicle to cover injuries and property damage that your vehicle may cause.
Buying a New Vehicle in Connecticut
If you are purchasing a new car in connected, you will be protected by the Connecticut lemon law in case the car turns out to be a lemon. If the car develops some problems, you need to take it to the manufacturer for repair at no cost. If the problems can’t be fixed after a number of repair attempts, you request the manufacturer to replace the car with a comparable one or give you a refund.
Selling a Vehicle in Connecticut
If you are a private seller or a dealer, you also have some protections after selling your vehicle.
Used Vehicle selling in Connecticut
If you are a seller in Connecticut, you have to sell your used vehicle “as is.” You don’t need to provide a warranty of any type. Once the sale transaction is complete and a bill of sale is created, the vehicle will belong to the new owner. You will not be responsible for any problem that may occur on the car.
New Vehicle selling in Connecticut
If you plan to sell new motor vehicles in Connecticut, you must register yourself/company as a vehicle dealer. You also follow the licensing rules, which govern sales transactions, advertising and warranties. You also need to comply with the Connecticut lemon laws regarding defective vehicles that need repair or replacement.