Last Updated on
A driving record which is commonly known as Motor Vehicle Record is an official report that contains your driving history. Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) is the department that provides your driver records. Reasons for ordering Colorado driving record include:
- An employer requesting them as screening requirements
- On case of identity theft
- To minimize your insurance costs.
Types of Colorado Driving Records
The following are types of driving records that can be ordered In Colorado:
- Certified motor vehicle record
- Non-certified motor vehicle record.
In Colorado, your Motor Vehicle Records shows your entire driving history for period of 7 years. A driving cannot be ordered if a period of 7 years has elapsed. Colorado driving record contains the following information:
- License suspensions or revocations
- Any accidents and/or points held against you
- Traffic citations, fines and violations
- Endorsements and License classifications.
Requesting Colorado Driving Record
You can order your Colorado driving record by mail or in person. You cannot order it online. You need to provide the following information when ordering your driving record:
- Date of birth
- Driver’s license number
- A photocopy of your photo ID with your signature embedded
For non-certified Colorado driving record, you must send the above documents to any Colorado Department of Motor Vehicle licensing office. For certified one, you must send the above information to: Division of Motor Vehicles 1881 Pierce Street Lakewood, CO 80214
Employer and Court Requests
You can only request other driver’s driving records if you are an employer or if you have a pending court case. Employers may request your driving record for the following reasons:
- To make a hiring decision
- To use in a legal issue resulting from a lawsuit
- For regular audit of your driving history.
A court in Colorado may also request your driving record to be used in legal proceedings.
Requesting Other People’s Driving Record
If you need to request another person’s driving record, you can do it by mail or in person. In this case, you will need:
- A completed Form DR 2489 (Requestor Release and Affidavit of Intended Use)
Be sure to specify your request; whether you need a certified driving record or a non-certified one. The above information can be sent or taken in person to: Department of Revenue Division of Motor Vehicles Driver Control Section 1881 Pierce Street Lakewood, CO 80214 The Colorado driving record will be sent to you through mail within 14 business days.
Colorado Driving Record fees
Colorado driving record fees depend on the type of driving record ordered.
- $2.20 for non-certified driver record
- $2.70 for certified driver record.
Accepted Payment Methods
Colorado DMV offices accept the following form of payment:
- Check payable to the Department of Revenue
- Personal check or money order for mailed-in-requests.
Note: Credit or debit cards are not accepted
Rectifying Errors on Your CO Driving Record
It is important to rectify any error in your Colorado driving record, since incorrect information can lead to increased car insurance premiums, lead to fines or suspension of drivers license. Therefore, if there are some errors or mistakes in your driving record, contact the DMV using the following hotlines (303) 205-5600 or TDD (303) 205-5940.