Last Updated on
Delaware driving record is a document provided by the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) in Delaware. This document shows details of your driving history, including the status of your driver’s record, as well as any revocations, suspensions and convictions in the past three years. This record is requested for the following use:
- Personal: You may request this record for identification purpose or curb identity theft
- Legal: National, federal or local court can request this document to use it in court proceedings
- Employment: Potential employers may request your Delaware driving record when carrying out background checks
- Insurance: Driving records may be requested by your vehicle insurance company. They often use driving history to determine your insurance rates. If you have a clean driving record, you are more likely to pay lower insurance rates.
- Fraud prevention: Your driving record can be requested by other government agencies investigating on various car frauds, such as identity theft or car insurance frauds.
Delaware Driving Record information
The Delaware driving record contain details about your driving history, including your driver’s license suspensions, convictions and restrictions. This record also has information of violation points and convictions. State and federal law restricts individuals and organizations that can see your Delaware driving record. This record contains sensitive personal information such as your photo, social security number, driver license number, physical address, phone number as well as medical history. You may only request a Delaware driving record if you meet the requirements listed on Form MV703.
If you cause an accident or violate any traffic law, you will be assigned points in your driving record. You will have these points removed from your driving record if you attend a defensive driving course. NOTE: Points assigned on your driving record as a result of over-speeding, will be assessed if it is your first time being caught over-speeding within 3 years.
Employer, Insurance & Attorney Requests
Under the Driver’s Privacy Protection Act, attorney, employer or insurance company may request someone else’s driving record. You must follow the outlined steps when requesting driving records of other individuals. You must include your company’s information and mailing address and provide personal information of the driver whose record is being requested. So in general, the following are entities that are authorized to request individuals driving record:
- Government agencies to be used in official business
- Court to use them in arbitration proceedings
- Insurance companies to use them when determining your insurance premiums
- Employers to use when conducting pre-employment background check.
Ordering your Delaware Driving Record
You can order your Delaware driving record online, by mail or online. You can’t obtain your record by phone.
To request your Delaware driving record, visit the Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles website and create a MyDMV account. Use the login details to access the online services page. From here, you can see the steps to order your Delaware driving record. You need to pay the $15 driving record fee to obtain your record.
You can also obtain your Delaware driving record in person at your local Delaware Department of Motor Vehicle office. You must print and fill Form MV703 (Personal Information Release Form). After filling this form, take it in person at your local Delaware Department of Motor Vehicle office. You must take with you a check or money order of $15 as driving record fee. You will get a copy of your Delaware driving record immediately.
To obtain your Delaware driving record, you must:
- Print and fill Form MV703 (Personal Information Release Form)
- Enclose a check or money order for $15
- Include a self-addressed, stamped envelope.
Mail the above package to: Division of Motor Vehicles ATTN: Driver License Administration P.O. Box 698 Dover, DE 19903 The DMV in Delaware will send you a copy of your Delaware driving record by mail. Fees for Delaware Driving Records A 3-year Delaware driving record goes for $15.
Acceptable Payment Methods
- In Person requests: The DMV office in Delaware accepts cash, checks, money orders and credit cards
- Online request: Credit cards are accepted
- By Mail requests: Payment must be made through check or money order.
Correcting errors on your Delaware Driving Record
The Delaware Department of Motor Vehicle routinely checks Delaware driving records of every driver to verify whether their information is correct. If you find some errors on your driving record, contact the above department to have them corrected.