Last Updated on
The Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) is charged with the responsibility of keeping records of all drivers with license in the state. Driving records in Maine keep track of all:
- Accident reports
- License and vehicle registration history.
Points against Your Driver License
Violations and Tickets will result in points being added to your driving record. Your license will be suspended by the BMV if you accumulate a specific number of points.
Types of Maine Driving Records
There are several Maine driving records provided by the ME DMV, and they include:
- Electronic driving records
- 3-year driving records
- 10-year driving records
- Certified driving records.
All Maine driving records contain full information on vehicle and driving. However, driving records with personal information (e.g. name, address, Social Security number, etc.) can only be requested in accordance with state and federal laws protecting private information. NOTE: The fee for each type of driving record will vary.
Who Sees Your ME Driving Record?
According to the Maine Freedom of Access Law, driving records without personal information can be available to the public. On the other hand, Driving records with personal information are available only to certain organizations or perhaps with a written consent from the owner of the driving record being requested. There are requesters who do not need written consent so as to obtain records with personal information:
- Towing companies and impound yards
- Licensed private investigators
- Vehicle manufacturers
- Insurance companies
- Law enforcement
- Businesses and employers who need to verify information.
Ordering Your Maine Driving Record
You can order a Maine driving record either through online or in person or by mail.
To request a Maine driving record via online:
- Visit the page for driver records request
- Pay a fee for your driving record
- Enter the driver name and date of birth or the license number
- Print the record.
NOTE: An online version of the ODR does not contain personal information. You can only get personal information through mail.
When requesting for a driving record in Maine, send a written request with:
- Your name, birth date, and your current address
- Any records required, such as convictions, suspensions, accident reports and revocations
- A specific note for a 3-year record or 10-year record. You should also state “certified” if required
- A money order or check payable to the Maine Secretary of State
- A fax number, if you’re sending it by fax.
Mail your request and payment to: Bureau of Motor Vehicles Driver License Services Division 29 State House Station Augusta, ME 04333 NOTE: The records in which the information was electronically recorded might not be available. Call the hotline (207) 783-5422 to reach the Violations Bureau and obtain a copy of the abstract containing this information.
To obtain your Maine driving record by person, you need to:
- Visit any Maine DMV office
- Bring a fee for payment of your driving record.
NOTE: Contact the ME Department Of Motor Vehicles offices directly for further information.
Maine Driving Record Fees
Fees for ordering Maine driving records are dependent on the type of record that you are requesting:
- 3-year record: A fee of $5
- 10-year record: A fee of $10
- Certified copy including $1 to the driving record fee
- Faxing fee including $2 to your driving record fee
- Copies of documents including $5 fee for copies of accident reports, suspension documents traffic report, etc.
Acceptable Payment Methods
- In person by use of checks, money orders or credit cards (MasterCard, American Express and VISA)
- By mail through check or money order made payable to “Secretary of State.”
- Online through credit cards (MasterCard, American Express and VISA).
Correcting Your ME Driving Record Information
If your driver record has an error, you ought to contact BMV using the hotline (207) 624-9000, ext. 52100. Include the exact nature of the error and provide proof to have it corrected accordingly.