Last Updated on
The Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) is the department that is responsible for providing Nebraska driving records for all licensed drivers. You may request a copy of your driving record from this department if need arises.
Information on your Nebraska Driving Record
A Nebraska driver record is a report that shows a detailed driving history, including your driver’s license suspension, traffic convictions, violations and other information related to your driving experience. Basically, this report will have the following information:
- Name, date of birth, mailing address, and county of residence
- Physical description
- Driver license number, issue and expiration date
- Driver license status (suspended, valid or revoked or restricted)
- Driver license class and endorsements
- Traffic accidents caused and convictions
- Points against your driver’s license.
Types of Nebraska Driving Records
The following are types of Nebraska driving record that you can request from Nebraska DMV:
- 5-year record: This record shows a brief driving history within the last 5-year
- Complete driving record: Provides an entire driving history
- Clearance letter: This is the letter given to former Nebraska residents who are intending to apply for a driver’s license in another state.
Who Can See Your Nebraska Driving Record?
Nebraska Driver Privacy Protection Act (DPPA) allows driving records to be released in accordance with its regulations. The following is a list of entities that can see your driving record:
- A person with written consent from the driver
- Court or law enforcement
- News media representatives for reasonable law enforcement purposes
- Towing companies
- Security agencies
- Licensed private investigators
- An employer requesting it to verify their driver license information
- An entity that wants to prevent car insurance fraud.
Ordering Your Nebraska Driving Record
You can order your Nebraska driving record by mail, in person or online.
To order your Nebraska driving record online, you must visit the Driver License Record Search website. You will be prompted to a webpage asking your name, Nebraska driver’s license number, date of birth, e-mail address and payment of $3 driving record fee. Your driving record will be emailed to you.
You can also request your Nebraska motor vehicle record in person at your local Nebraska DMV office. You must take with you a completed Application for Copy of Driving Record and proof of identification. You will also be required to pay the $3 driver record fee.
You can also obtain your Nebraska driving record by mail. You will need to mail a completed Application for Copy of Driving Record and proof of identification. You will also be required to pay the $3 driver record fee by attaching a check or money order of the same amount. You must also provide a self-addressed and stamped envelope when you send your application. Otherwise send your package to the address listed on the form.
Ordering Clearance Letters in Nebraska
To obtain a clearance letter from the Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicle, you must submit a written request by mail. Include in your mail, your full name, date of birth, driver license number or Social Security number, current mailing address, a check or money order of $3 and a self addressed stamped envelope. Send your package to: Nebraska DMV Driver and Vehicle Records Division PO Box 94789 Lincoln, NE 68509-4789 You clearance letter will be sent to you within 2 days of submitting your request.
Fees for Nebraska Driving Records
- $3 for driving record
- $3 for clearance letter.
Acceptable Payment Methods
- In Person: accepted payment methods are money orders, checks or credit cards
- Online: e-check, or credit card are accepted
- By mail: enclose a check or money order payable to Nebraska DMV.
Correcting Information on a NE Driving Record
If you find errors on your Nebraska driving record, contact the Nebraska DMV to have them corrected. Inform them of the nature of the error, and provide any proof you may have for the correction.
Removing Points from Your Driving Record
The Nebraska DMV can remove 2 points from your driving record if you successfully complete an approved driver improvement course. This course is taken only once in every 5 months.