Last Updated on
The Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) is the department responsible for keeping and providing driving records. This article contains more information about Rhode Island driving records, how to obtain them, fees involved and other relevant information.
Information on your Rhode Island Driving Record
The Rhode Island driving record contains details on your driving history, including:
- Driver license classifications
- Restrictions and suspensions
- Tickets and accidents.
Although some old information is often removed from your driving record, the following remains in your driving record:
- Violations involving a school bus
- Refusal to submit to chemical tests
- Accidents resulting in personal injury or property damage
- Tickets received by licensed commercial drivers
- Over-speeding tickets
- Violations under the jurisdiction of district courts.
Types of Rhode Island Driving Records
- Certified DMV driving record: Contains personal information
- Non-certified DMV driving record: Does not contain personal information other than your name. It show driving history, license classification, revocations, suspensions and convictions.
Non-Certified Driving Records
You can request a copy of your non-certified driving record. You can also request a driving record of other drivers if you have written consent from them. Other independent entities can also request your unofficial driving record, but they must have a written consent from you. In fact the Federal Driver’s Privacy Protection Act (DPPA), provides a list of entities who can request your driving record as explained below:
- Courts, government and law enforcement agencies
- Insurance companies
- Licensed private investigators
- Employers performing a pre-employment screening
- Towing companies.
Certified Driving Records
In most cases, the only driver on record can request a certified Rhode Island driving record. A certified Rhode Island driving record can be verified online within 180 days of issuance. If you have any questions or concerns about a Rhode Island driving record, you can contact the Rhode Island DMV Operator Control department at (401) 462-0800.
Order Your Driving Record
You can order a copy of your Rhode Island driving record online, in person or by mail. You cannot order your driving record by phone.
You can visit your local Rhode Island DMV office, to request a copy of your driving record in person. You will be required to pay the required $17.50 driving record fee. The DMV will provide your record within that day.
You may also request a copy of your Rhode Island driving record by mail. To do so, you will be required to send a written request containing your name, driver’s license number, date of birth and address. You will be required also to submit a check or money order of $17.50 for driving record fee. Mail the above package to: Division of Motor Vehicles Operator Control 600 New London Avenue Cranston, RI 02920
You can also obtain a copy of your non-certified driving record online by visiting the Rhode Island Motor Vehicle Records page. You will be required to enter your last name, date of birth, zip code and driver’s license number. You must pay $19.50 Rhode Island driver record fee.
Fees for Rhode Island Driving Records
- $17 for in person requests
- $17.5 for requests made by mail
- $19.50 for online request
- Additional Fees i.e. $1.50 per transaction when using credit cards.
Acceptable Payment Methods
- In Person: Cash, check, money order or credit cards
- By Mail: check or money order payable to RI DMV
- Online: credit cards.
Correcting errors on Your RI Driving Record
If you find errors on your Rhode Island driving record, contact your local Rhode Island DMV office to have those errors corrected.