Last Updated on
In Vermont, a motor vehicle record (MVR) can be obtained from the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). This record contains a report on your driving history for a set period of time. If your Vermont driving history is not clean, you may have a negative financial impact as far as your vehicle ownership and operation is concerned. Continue reading this article to get more information about Vermont driving record, how to obtain one and other relevant information.
Vermont Driving Record Information
Your Vermont motor vehicle record contains the following information, if applicable:
- Traffic violations, accidents and convictions
- Records of license suspensions, disqualification and revocations
- Points on your driver’s license (usually points remain in your record for 2 years)
- Records on failed appearances
Every car insurance provider uses your Vermont driving record when calculating your car insurance rates. For a clean driving history, you are likely to pay low premiums.
Who Sees Your Vermont Driving Record?
The law (federal Driver Privacy Protection Act-DPPA), allows organizations to request your driving record. These include:
- Employers interested in verifying your personal information
- Car insurance companies
- Any motor vehicle related entity
- Courts and government agencies.
Some employers may conduct a background check of your Vermont driving record as a requirement for employment. So be sure to maintain a clean driving history.
Ordering Your Vermont Driving Record
You may request your Vermont Driving record by mail or in person. There are two types of motor vehicle records that you can request from this department:
- 3-year driving history
- Complete driving history.
Vermont Department of Motor Vehicle does not offer driving records online. However, you can use a third-party online driving record provider to request unofficial Vermont driving records.
You may request your Vermont motor vehicle record in person at the Vermont Department of Motor Vehicle in Montpelier only. Using this way, you must:
- Present a filled and completed Form TA-VG-116 (DMV Record Request).
- Submit copies of your identification documents. Call the Vermont DMV if you are not sure which document to provide. Their hotline number is (802) 828-2000.
- Payment for your certified driving record fee, i.e., $13 for a 3-year driving history or $16 for a complete driving history.
The Vermont Department of Motor Vehicle will issue your driving record immediately.
To request your Vermont driving record by mail, be sure to:
- Include a filled and completed Form TA-VG-116 (DMV Record Request)
- Enclose copies of your identification documents
- Include a check ($13 for a 3-year driving history or $16 for complete driving history) if you are requesting a certified Vermont driving record.
The above requirements should be sent to: Department of Motor Vehicles 120 State St. Montpelier, VT 05603 Your Vermont driving record will be emailed to you.
Fees for Driving Records in Vermont
When ordering your Vermont driving record, the following fees are required:
- $13 for 3-year driving record
- $16 for complete driving record.
Acceptable Payment Methods
The Vermont Department of Motor Vehicle office in Montpelier accepts the followings modes of fee payments:
- Money orders
- Credit or debit cards.
If you are paying your fee by mail, a check is needed.
Correcting Information on VT Driving Records
If you find errors on your Vermont driving record, you’ll need to contact the Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles at (802) 828-2000.