Last Updated on
You can request your West Virginia driving record from the Department of Transportation. This department provides driving records for licensed drivers only. This report provides a record of your driving history, including violations, convictions, driver’s license suspensions and other information.
West Virginia Point System
If you commit any traffic violations your points are placed on your driving record. If your driver’s license is suspended, you get 12 points. These points will remain on your West Virginia driving record for 2 years. 3 points are removed from your driving record when you take approved defensive driving course. This course is taken once a year. NOTE: Points placed on your driving record affect your vehicle insurance premiums. You will pay more for insurance if you have accumulated more points.
Who Sees Your Driving Record
New Hampshire driving records are commonly ordered by:
- Employers as part of their pre-employment screening exercise
- Insurance companies who use them to determine your vehicle insurance rates.
Employers and Driving Records
Your employer may request your driving record to determine whether you are fit for their job offer. So make sure your driving record is clean.
Ordering a West Virginia Driving Record
You can request your West Virginia motor vehicle record in person, by mail or via email or fax.
You can request your West Virginia driving record in person from West Virginia Division of Motor Vehicle. You will need to provide:
- A completed for DMV-101-PS1 (Driving Record Request)
- Proper identification which include either your driver’s license or identification ID
- Payment for the applicable fee.
You may also opt to use mail as means of obtaining your West Virginia driving record. Using this option, you will need to provide:
- A completed form DMV-101-PS1 (Driving Record Request)
- Proper identification which include either your driver’s license, a copy of Social Security number or identification ID
- Payment for the applicable fee.
The above documents are emailed to: West Virginia Division of Motor Vehicle Driving Records Section PO Box 17020 Charleston, WV 25317 You must indicate in your request where you want that report mailed to.
By E-Mail or Fax
You can also request your West Virginia driving record through email or fax. To do so, you can use the following information:
- Emailing the documents to [email protected]
- Faxing the documents to (304) 926-3899.
NOTE: When you use email or fax option, you must follow up your request with a phone call to initiate processing. Use (304) 926-3802 when calling DMV.
Employer and Insurance Agency Requests
Employer and Insurance companies most commonly request driving records of drivers. These two entities can only use mail option when ordering these reports and they must sign form (DMV-101-PS2). This is the Driving Record Release Authorization Form which is signed by the driver whose record is being requested. The reason for requesting these records must be provided as outline by the Uniform Motor Vehicles Records Disclosure Act.
Driving Records Fess
When ordering these records in person, you pay $5 per request. For mailing, you pay additional $1 if you are unable to provide your driver’s license number. In this case, you must provide your Social Security number and date of birth.
Accepted Payment Methods
- In person or by mail use money order or check.
- E-mail or fax payments can be made over the phone (304) 926-3802).
Rectifying Errors on Your Driving Record
If your West Virginia driving record is incorrect, contact the Division of Motor Vehicle to have them corrected. This is important because incorrect driving record may impact you negatively when you apply for insurance or when you are looking for employment as a driver. You can call West Virginia DOT at:
- (800) 642-9066 (For West Virginia residents only)
- (304) 558-3900 (all other callers)
- (800) 742-6991 (hearing impaired).
You can also email them using [email protected]