Last Updated on
The state of Virginia has beautiful scenic highways and other road networks. Riding a motorcycle along these roads is fun and exciting. If you own a motorcycle, try taking one ride and feel the freedom that come with it. But be sure to take the necessary safety precautions. The law requires you and your passenger to wear a helmet and other protective gears. Your motorcycle should be equipped with a DMV approved windshield. The DMV also requires you to be licensed in order to legally operate a motorcycle. You have two options: you may have a motorcycle endorsement on your current driver’s license or go for a Virginia motorcycle only license. To apply for any type of Virginia motorcycle license, you will need to visit your local DMV office. You will need to take with you all the required paperwork.
Motorcycle Learner’s Permit
Virginia motorcycle license is not the only document required to drive a motorcycle. You will need to learn how to drive a motorcycle itself. Therefore, you should obtain a motorcycle learner’s permit. This permit lets you learn how to drive a motorcycle while you are under supervision. From this kind of training, you will get the knowledge you need to successfully pass a motorcycle skill test. To obtain this permit, you must pass the motorcycle written exam. If you are planning to take this exam, you will need to study the Motorcycle Manual. You can download a PDF copy of this manual or read it online. If you don’t have a valid Virginia driver’s license or learner’s permit, you must pass the motorcycle knowledge test for a regular Virginia driver’s license. If you choose this option, you will need to master the Virginia Driver’s Manual. If you are younger than 19 years old, you will need to hold at least a 9 month old motorcycle learner’s permit before taking your motor cycle road skills test. Just like a licensed rider, when operating a motorcycle under a motorcycle learner’s permit, you will also need to wear an approved safety helmet and other protective gears. Additionally, you must be supervised by a rider with a valid Class M designation or Virginia motorcycle driver’s license, but who is 21 years old or older. This other person must be able to assist you from a separate motor vehicle. You will not be required to carry any passenger while driving under a motorcycle learner’s permit.
Regular Virginia Driver’s License and a Class M Designation
If you already have a valid Virginia driver’s license, you can add on your license a Class M designation. This will also allow you to legally ride a motorcycle in Virginia. If you choose this option to obtain a Virginia motorcycle license, you will need to pass a motorcycle knowledge test and required vision screening. You will also need to pass the motorcycle road skill test. To prepare for your motorcycle knowledge test, you will need to master the Virginia Motorcycle Manual. You must also hold at least a 30 days motorcycle learner’s permit. You will be exempted from the knowledge and skills tests, if you submit a completion certificate and take the state-approved Rider Training Program. If you have never held a license from any U.S. territory, US state or another country and you are younger than 19 years old, you must hold at least a 9 month Virginia motorcycle learner’s permit when applying for a Virginia motorcycle license.
You will need to pay $2 fee per year for a motorcycle Class M designation.