Last Updated on
Motorcycle safety Laws
All motorcycle drivers regardless of age, are required to wear a helmet while driving.
Bicycle safety laws
If you are under 16 years old, you must wear a helmet when transporting kids under 1 year old. You are also required to properly secure them in an infant sling, a bicycle trailer or a child passenger bicycle seat. If you are operating at night, your bike must be fitted with a white light that is visible from 300 feet way. You are not allowed to carry any passenger that prevents you from handling the handlebars with two hands.
Cell Phones and Texting
All drivers younger than 18 years old are not allowed to use cell phones while driving. All school bus drivers, regardless of age, are not allowed to use a cell phone while they are on the load, loading pupils or unloading them. All drivers in Georgia, regardless of age, are not allowed to text while driving.
All motor vehicle drivers are required to turn on headlights 30 minutes after sunset and 30 minutes before sunrise. In addition, they are also required to turn on headlights when the weather or rain is limiting visibility to less than 500 feet ahead.
Reporting Drunk/Unsafe Drivers
If you suspect a drunk or unsafe driver, report them to the law enforcement authorities. You may also call 911 if you spot a person driving dangerously. Be sure to record the vehicle’s model, make, year, license plate number and current location for the law enforcement officers.
Unattended Kids and Pets
It is illegal if you are found to have left a child or your pet unattended in a vehicle for long during extreme cold or heat conditions. Under Georgia safety law, you will be charged for endangering the life of your kid or pet. If you spot such incidences, inform your local animal control unit or enforcement officers immediately.
Child Car Seat Laws
- Kids younger than 8 years old must sit in a booster or state approved safety seat that goes hand in hand with their weight and height.
- Kids younger than 8 years old must ride in the back seat. If the back seats are fully occupied, the kid can sit in the front seat provided he or she is secured in a child safety seat or booster.
- Any kid with a height of 4 feet 9 inches or higher may use a seat belt in lieu of a child safety seat or a booster seat.
- Kids over 8 years old must wear a seat belt.
- Children who don’t require child seats may sit in front.