Last Updated on
Child Car Seat Laws
The following are key components of child car seat laws in Kansas.
- All kids younger than 1 years old are required by law to ride in a rear-facing car seat.
- All kids younger than 4 years old should sit in a rear-facing seat all the time.
- All kids between 4 years old and 8 years old must use a booster seat unless they are taller than 4 ft 9 inches, weigh more than 80 pounds or travelling in a vehicle with lap belts only.
- All kids between 8 years old and 14 years old must use a seat belt whenever the vehicle is in motion.
There are several child car fitting stations throughout Kansas. If you have any problem installing your child car safety seat or booster seat, contact experts from these stations. If you can’t afford a booster seat or child safety seat, these experts can also help you get information on how to acquire a low cost piece of safety equipment.
Reporting Intoxicated Drivers
According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, over 30% of traffic deaths in the United States are caused by intoxicated drivers. Since drunk driving poses a great risk to the general public, you should report any intoxicated driver to the law enforcement immediately once you spot them. If you suspect any of the following signs, know that the driver might be intoxicated:
- Drifting into opposing traffic.
- Driving outside legally designated roadways.
- Almost striking a stationary object or another vehicle.
- Excessively swerving.
- Weaving across the road.
- Erratic and sudden braking.
- Improper signaling.
When you report a suspected drunk driver, you will be asked to describe how the driver is behaving. You will also be asked to describe the vehicle that the suspected driver is driving, its license plate number, its description, the current location and the travel direction. An officer will be dispatched to the scene. Do not attempt to stop any intoxicated driver by yourself. He or she may turn out to be violent when confronted.
You should turn on your vehicle’s headlights whenever the visibility is reduced as a result of darkness or poor weather. You should also turn on your vehicle’s low-beam headlights whenever you see other vehicle approaching. If you are riding a bicycle at night, you must turn on a white headlight that is visible from 500 feet.
Cell Phones and Texting
The drivers with intermediate license or learner’s permit are banned from the use of cell phones. All riders in Kansas, regardless of age, are banned from texting.
- All riders younger than 18 years are required by law to wear helmets while driving.
- All bicycle riders younger than 15 years old who live in Lawrence are required by law to use helmets when riding.