Last Updated on
- Motorcycles: All riders under 18 years old and those who hold an instruction permit must wear a helmet while riding on public roads and streets.
- Bicycles: Helmet are not mandatory for all bicycle riders of all ages.
- Vehicles: You must turn on your vehicle’s headlights between sunset and sunrise, and whenever visibility is less than 500 feet ahead. You must also turn on your headlights whenever you are using windshield wipers to remove raindrops, mist, snow or fog.
- Motorcycles: You must turn on your motorcycle’s headlights at all times of the day.
Cell Phones and Texting
Drivers who hold learner’s permit or provisional license are not allowed to use cell phones while driving. All drivers in Minnesota, regardless of age or license status, are not allowed to send text messages while driving.
Child Car Seat Laws
- Kids younger than 8 years old and less than 4 feet 9 inches tall must ride in a booster seat or a federally approved safety seat. Otherwise, kids older than 8 years old or taller than 4 feet 9 inches must use a seat belt whenever they are in a car.
- Kids under 1 year and weighing less than 20 lbs. must ride in a car seat located in the rear side of the car.
You can shop for a child car seat online. Before ordering your seat, consider your child’s age, weight and height. For more information about proper child car seat installation and other information, visit the Minnesota’s Child Passenger Safety website. The state recommends that your children use safety seat until they are tall enough to use the ordinary car seat.
Reporting Drunk or Dangerous Drivers
If you suspect a drunk or dangerous driver, contact the law enforcement officers immediately. You can do so by dialing 911. Be sure to record the car’s license plate number, description, current location and travel direction.
Reporting Unattended Kids in Vehicles
If you suspect an unattended kid in a vehicle whose life is in danger, contact the law enforcement officers immediately. You can do so by dialing 911.
Reporting Unattended Pets in Vehicles
Contact your local animal control unit or law enforcement officers if you suspect that an unattended pet in a vehicle is in danger.