Last Updated on
- Motorcycles: All riders younger than 18 years old must wear a helmet.
- Bicycles: Montana doesn’t have a bicycle helmet law. However, the Montana Department of Transportation strongly recommends all riders to wear a helmet while riding.
- Vehicles: You must turn on your vehicle’s headlights 30 minutes after sunset and 30 minutes before sunrise. You must also turn on your vehicle’s headlights whenever visibility is reduced to 500 feet or less.
- Motorcycles: Montana riders are required to turn on headlights during the day.
- Bicycles: When riding a bicycle at night, your bicycle must be equipped with a red rear light and front white light. Both of these lights must be visible from 500 feet.
Cell Phones and Texting
At the time of writing this review, Montana has no law regulating the use of texts and cell phones while driving. However, several municipalities have their own regulations that ban the use of cell phones or texting.
- Billings: Bans the use of hand-held cell phones and texting.
- Helena: Bans the use of hand-held cell phones.
- Butte: Bans the use of hand-held cell phones.
- Missoula: Bans texting.
- Whitefish: Bans the use of hand-held cell phones and texting.
Montana Child Car Seat Laws
Children weighing less than 60 pounds or younger than 6 years old must ride in a booster seat or federally approved safety seat. All other riders in Montana, regardless of age, must wear a seat belt while the vehicle is in motion.
Reporting Drunk or Dangerous Drivers
Contact 911 if you spot a dangerous or drunk driver. Be sure to provide the vehicle’s license plate number, description, current location and travel direction. If it is not an emergency, report the driver to the Montana Motor Vehicle Division by phone, email or in writing. DMV Department of Justice Scott Hart Building, 2nd Floor 302 North Roberts P.O. Box 201430 Helena, Montana 59620 By phone: (406) 444-3933 By e-mail: [email protected]
Unattended Child in Vehicle
If you suspect unattended child in a vehicle who is at risk because of cold or heat, call 911 immediately. If possible, remain at the scene until the authorities arrive.
Unattended Pet in Vehicle
Call the animal control unit or the law enforcement officer if you suspect an unattended pet in a vehicle at risk due to extreme cold or heat.