Last Updated on
Headlights must be turned on between 30 minutes after sunset and 30 minutes before sunrise. Additionally, they must be turned whenever the weather can’t allow you to see past 1,000 feet ahead. High beams must not be used when an approaching vehicle is within 500 feet or when a trailing traffic is within 300 feet.
All adult occupants must wear seat belts when travelling in a motor vehicle with safety belts. All vehicles manufactured in 1968 or newer must be fitted with lap belts. All front seats for vehicles built in 1970 and newer must be fitted with shoulder belts and lap belts.
Child Car Seat Laws
Children younger than 6 years old or weighing less than 60 lbs must ride in a secured safety restraint system. The DMV recommends children to ride in back seats. If your child is caught travelling without a child restraint system, you can be fined, have your license suspended or be forced to perform community service. If you are in the market looking for a child car seat, you can purchase one online. Before making your order, consider your child’s age, height and weight.
Cell Phones and Texting
It is illegal to use hand-held cell phones or access internet while driving on Nevada public roads or streets. Exceptions to this law include:
- Use of a hands-free headset.
- Any driver reporting criminal activity, safety hazard or medical emergency.
- Drivers using a voice-operated navigation system.
- Utility drivers responding to an outage or emergency.
- Drivers using citizen band and have a separate, handheld microphone.
- Firefighters, law enforcement personnel, or emergency medical personnel.
The Nevada safety law requires all motorcycle riders to wear helmets while riding on public roads or streets. In addition, all drivers are required to wear protective eye gears if the motorcycle is not equipped with a face shield.
Reporting an Unsafe Driver
If you suspect a drunk or unsafe driver, report to the Nevada Highway Patrol. You can do so by dialing *NHP or *647 on your phone. Dial 911 if it is an emergency (accidents, hazardous situations, disabled vehicles).
Leaving a kid younger than 7 years old unattended in a vehicle is considered a misdemeanor. You will be charged with misdemeanor. If you leave a child unattended especially during extreme weather condition, you will be compromising the child’s safety and health.