Last Updated on
- Motorcycles: The state of New Hampshire has no helmet law for riders or passengers over 18 years old. However, the New Hampshire Department of Safety recommends all riders, regardless of age, to wear a helmet.
- Bicycles: Bicycle riders younger than 16 years old are required by law to wear a helmet whenever they are riding on public roads and streets. All bicycle riders are also required by law to wear a reflective outerwear if they are operating at night.
- Vehicles: All drivers must turn on headlights 30 minutes after sunset until 30 minutes before sunrise, and whenever the weather reduces visibility to 1000 feet. The state recommends you turn on the headlights whenever you are using your wind shield wipers. The state also recommends you to make high beams dim whenever you see the approaching traffic.
- Motorcycles: The state requires you to turn on your motorcycle’s modulating headlights whenever you are riding.
- Bicycles: When riding your bicycle at night, your bike must be fitted with a white front light which is visible from 300 feet. Your bicycle must also be fitted with a red light or a red rear reflector visible from 300 feet.
Cell Phones and Texting
At the time of writing this article, New Hampshire had no law that restricted the use of cell phones by drivers. However, there was a law that banned drivers of all ages from texting while driving.
Children younger than 18 years old must wear a seat belt whenever they are in a moving car. The Department of Safety recommends the use of safety belts for all car occupants.
Child Car Seat
Kids under 7 years old and shorter than 57 inches must ride in a booster seat or a federally approved car seat. Kids over 57 inches are exempted from this law, but required to use seat belts instead. It is a good idea to use a child restraint system whenever you are travelling with your child. This system varies depending on your child’s age, height and weight.
Drunk or Dangerous Drivers
If you suspect a drunk or dangerous driver, contact the law enforcement officers immediately. You can do so by dialing 911. Be sure to record the car’s license plate number, description, current location and travel direction.
Unattended Kids in Vehicles
If you suspect an unattended kid in a vehicle whose life is in danger, contact the law enforcement officers immediately. You can do so by dialing 911.
Unattended Pets in Vehicles
Contact your local animal control unit or law enforcement officers if you suspect that an unattended pet in a vehicle is in danger.
New Hampshire requires drivers to give attention to other drivers who have been involved in accidents. This law is known as the “Mover Over” and it extends to tow truck drivers and highway workers. Specifically, the law requires you to slow down whenever you are near any scene of accident. During this time, your car should display red, blue or amber emergency lights.