Last Updated on
- Vehicles: You must turn on your vehicle’s headlights between 30 minutes after sunset until 30 minutes before sunrise, or whenever the weather reduces visibility to 500 feet or less. Additionally, you must turn on headlights when you turn on windshield wipers.
- Motorcycles: Turning on modulating headlights during the day is allowed.
- Bicycles: When riding a bicycle at night, your bicycle must be equipped with a red rear light which is visible from at least 500 feet. Your bicycle must also be equipped with a front white light which is visible from at least 500 feet.
- Motorcycles: All riders operating on New Jersey public roads or streets must wear helmets.
- Bicycles: All bicycle riders 16 years old or younger must wear helmets while riding on public New Jersey roads and streets.
Cell Phones and Texting
- All drivers in New Jersey, regardless of age, are banned from using hand-held cell phones while driving.
- Anyone driving a school bus is banned from using a cell phone, unless he or she is reporting an emergency.
- All drivers younger than 21 years old with a provisional license or a graduated license permit are not allowed by law to use a hand-free cell phone.
- All drivers, regardless of age, are banned from sending or reading text messages while driving.
Child Car Seat Laws
- Children weighing less than 80 pounds or younger than 8 years old must ride in a booster seat or properly secured in a child safety seat positioned at the back seat.
- All children younger than 8 years old, but who weigh more than 80 pounds must use properly fastened seat belt.
Any child between 8 years old and 18 years old, regardless of weight, must wear a seat belt.
Reporting Drunk or Dangerous Drivers
New Jersey’s Aggressive Driver System is responsible for arresting drunk or unsafe drivers. If you suspect any aggressive driver, call #77 immediately. Be sure to provide the vehicle’s license plate number, description, current location and travel direction.
Reporting Unattended Kids in Vehicles
If you suspect unattended kid in a vehicle that you feel is at risk because of excessive heat or cold, call 911 immediately. If possible, remain at the site until the authorities arrive.
Reporting Unattended Pets in Vehicles
If you spot unattended pet in a car, which you feel is at risk, contact your local animal control unit or law enforcement officer immediately.