Last Updated on
- Motorcycles: All riders aged 17 years old or younger are required by law to wear helmets while riding. To who contravene this law are slapped with a $20 fine or 2 points.
- Bicycles: The state has no mandatory helmet laws for bicycle riders.
Cell Phones and Texting
All drivers in North Dakota, regardless of age or license status, are not allowed to send or read texts while driving. All drivers younger than 18 years old are not allowed to use cell phones while driving. If you are caught violating any of the above regulation, you will pulled over by the law enforcement officers and charged in a court of law.
All motorcycle riders in North Dakota are required to turn on headlights during the day. The state does not require you to turn on your vehicle’s headlights while you are using windshield wipers.
Reporting Unsafe or Drunken Drivers
If you suspect a drunk or dangerous driver in North Dakota, contact the law enforcement officers immediately. You can do so by dialing 911. Be sure to record the car’s license plate number, description, current location and travel direction.
Unattended Children in Vehicles
North Dakota doesn’t have a law that prosecutes offenders that leave children unattended in a vehicle. However, if you are found knowingly engaging in a conduct that jeopardizes the safety of a child in a car, you will be charged with an offense.
Unattended Pets in Vehicles
The state also doesn’t have a law that prosecutes offenders that leave pets unattended in a vehicle.
Child Car Seat Laws
- All children younger than 7 years old must ride in a child car seat or booster seat.
- If your child weighs more than 80 pounds or is taller than 57 inches, he or she can use seat belts instead of a child car seat or booster seat.
- If your child weighs over 40 pounds and there are no child car seats or booster seats, he may use a lap belt instead.
- Children between 7 years old and 17 years old must ride in a child restraint seat or wear a seat belt. This applies to both the back and front seats.
It is the responsibility of a driver to ensure that all passengers younger than 18 years old comply with the child car seat laws. If a passenger or driver violates the above law, the driver will face a $25 fine and 1 point on his or her driver’s license. If you are in the market shopping for a child car seat, you can order one online. Be sure to consider your child’s age, height and weight before making your order.