Last Updated on
Child Car Seat Laws
Ohio child car seat law requires all car occupants aged between 4 and 15 years old to be secured by a booster seat, a child seat or seat belt any time you are transporting them. Children travelling in a public safety vehicle or taxicabs are exempted from this requirement. If you violate this regulation, you will be charged with an offense and face a $25 fine.
Weight and Height Specifics
A child passenger must be secured by a federally approved safety seat until he or she reaches at least 4 feet 9 inches tall or turns 8 years old.
Seat Belt Rules for Front-Seat Riders
Front-seat car occupants must wear a seat belt. If the driver and the passenger fail to heed with this directive, they will both face a $30 and a $20 fine respectively. However, no points will be placed on your driver’s license.
Cell Phones and Texting
All drivers under 18 years old are not allowed to use cell phones while driving. All drivers, regardless of age, are not allowed to text while driving.
It’s illegal to drive a car while wearing headsets, ear plugs or earphones in both ears.
- Mopeds: All drivers under 18 years old driving a moped must wear protective eye gear and helmet.
- Motorcycles: All motorcycle riders, regardless of age, must wear protective eye gear. All motorcycle riders under 18 years old must wear a helmet while riding.
All drivers with less than 1 year of experience operating a motorcycle, regardless of age, must wear a helmet. As a passenger, if your driver is required to wear a helmet, you must also wear one.
Reporting Drunk or Unsafe Drivers
If you suspect a drunk or unsafe driver, call the law enforcement authorities at (800) GRAB-DUI to report them. You may also call 911 if it is an emergency (if you spot a person driving dangerously).
If the weather is bad and can’t allow you to see ahead (more than 100 feet ahead), you are required to turn on your vehicle’s headlight. In addition, you are also required to turn on your vehicle’s headlights immediately 30 minutes after sunset until 30 minutes before sunrise.
Leaving a Child Unattended
It is illegal if you are found to have left a child unattended in a vehicle for long during extreme cold or heat conditions. Under Ohio child safety law, you will be charged for endangering the life of your kid.