Last Updated on
Front-seat car passengers and the driver must wear a seat belt or ride in a secured safety seat whenever the vehicle is in motion. A law enforcement officer is mandated to pull over any vehicle whose occupants do not comply with the above law. Drivers can face up to $20 fine per infraction. It is the responsibility of the driver to ensure that passengers younger than 16 years old comply with this law.
Child Safety Seats
- All kids younger than 6 years old must ride in a properly restrained safety seat that has been approved federally.
- All kids younger than 12 years old must wear a seat belt or ride in appropriate safety system.
When shopping for child car seat, be sure to consider other factors such as your child’s age, weight and height. The Oklahoma DMV provides helpful information that can help you select a proper child safety seat or system.
Drivers must use their low beams whenever an approaching vehicle is within 600 feet ahead and the vehicle heading the same direction is within 600 ft. Headlights must be turned on 30 minutes after sunset until 30 minutes before sunrise. They must also be turned on whenever the road visibility is impaired.
Cell Phones and Texting
All drivers holding intermediary license or learner’s permit are not allowed by law to use hand-held cell phones while driving. All drivers holding intermediary license or learner’s permit are not allowed by law to send text messages while driving.
All riders younger than 18 years old must wear a safety helmet that has been approved federally whenever their motorcycles are in motion. All riders in Oklahoma, irrespective of age, are required by law to wear protective eye gears while riding a motorcycle. Motorcycles with windshield are exempted from this law.
Unattended Children or pets
Oklahoma doesn’t have a clear law that can prosecute those who leave their kids or pets unattended in a vehicle, especially during extreme weather conditions. However, the state requires you to report cases to the law enforcement authorities. If the kid or pet is in danger, dial 911 immediately.
Reporting Unsafe or Drunk Drivers
If you suspect drunk or dangerous drivers, report them to the law enforcement officers. You can do so by dialing 911. Be sure to record the vehicle’s license number, the current location and where it is heading to.