Last Updated on
Older passengers must wear a seat belt whenever they are in a moving vehicle. Children younger than 9 years old must ride in a child restraint safety seat whenever the vehicle is in motion. It is the responsibility of the driver to ensure that all passengers in his or her vehicle follow this rule. However, there are some exceptions:
- All employees of U.S. postal who are acting as mail carriers.
- Anyone with a health care professional’s note exempting him from wearing a seat belt.
- Anyone who finds himself in a situation where all the seat belts in a vehicle are in use.
- Anyone travelling in a vehicle that was manufactured without seatbelts.
Child Car Seat Laws
All children must ride in a booster seat, forward-facing seat or rear-facing seat. These seats vary depending on your child’s height, weight and age. Generally, any child younger than 8 years old must ride in child seat in the back of the car. Check the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration guidelines for more information on Wyoming child car seat laws.
Cell Phones and Texting
All drivers In Wyoming, regardless of age and license status, are not allowed to text while driving. It is illegal to do so. New drivers or those without experience are banned from use of cell phones of any type. Contact the Wyoming DOT For more information on use of cell phones.
All riders younger than 18 years are required by law to wear a helmet while driving on public roads or streets.
If you spot a drunk or unsafe driver, contact the Wyoming Highway Patrol. You can do so by calling their hotline (800) 442-9090. If it is an emergency, call 911.
Wyoming doesn’t have a clear law that can prosecute those who leave their kids unattended in a vehicle, especially during extreme weather conditions. However, there has been an ongoing debate on how to tighten the law to protect endangered kids in a car. If you suspect an unattended kid in a vehicle, inform the law enforcement authorities immediately. If the kid is in danger, dial 911 immediately.