Last Updated on March 22, 2018 by Jason Mason
If you have bought a motorcycle in Arkansas, you will need to register it in your name. You can do so at the Office of Motor Vehicles (OMV). The process and the paperwork for motorcycle registration is basically the same as car registration.
The Arkansas safety law requires you to register your motorcycle in order to be allowed to ride it on public roads and streets. Some small motorcycles, bicycles or mopeds need registration only. No need of applying for a title. The state will only require them to have a standard transmission.
You are required to pay property tax for your new, used or leased motorcycle. Each county in Arkansas has its own rules regarding property tax. For a motorcycle, they use its current value when calculating property tax.
For your own cover and that of passengers and other drivers, the state also requires you to purchase the minimum liability insurance for your motorcycle.
You must title your motorcycle within the first 30 days of purchase. To begin the titling process, you will need to take the following to the OMV office:
- Bill of Sale
- Documents showing proof of identity
- Proof of Insurance
In order for the OMV to process your application, you must also submit your motorcycle odometer reading. You can include the reading on the back of the title or complete the odometer statement in the bill of sale.
Motorcycle Registration and License Plates
To apply for motorcycle registration, you will need to complete your application, show proof of insurance, show property tax receipt and bill of sale. The Office of Motor Vehicles will process your application and give you the license plates to mount on your motorcycle. You will be required to pay registration fee and a one-time sales tax to your local registration office.
There are many options of license plates that are available for you to choose. You can request for special license plates or personalized plates. The choice is yours, but you should know that any custom license plate may come with additional fees and costs.
When your registration is about to expire, the OMV will send you a renewal notice with your pre-bill. You can then proceed to renewing your license online or by mail. To complete renewal by mail, you will need to send your application plus all the appropriate documents to the address below:
Arkansas Motor Vehicle Office
P.O. Box 3153
Little Rock, Arkansas 72203
To renew your registration online, you must update your county property taxes and liability insurance. You can opt for the Arkansas Star registration renewal system. Renewal through this system is convenient and it is available 24 hours, 7 days a week.
You can also renew your motorcycle registration by visiting your local DMV office.
Arkansas does not require you to submit proof of motorcycle inspection testing when titling or registering your motorcycle. It is up to you to ensure that your motorcycle is in good working condition all the time you hit the road to ride it.