Last Updated on March 22, 2018 by editor
You must obtain motorcycle registration in order to legally drive it in New Hampshire. The process of registering a motorcycle or moped is the same as that of registering a car. Scooters, bicycles and seaways don’t have to be registered.
In winter, motorcycle registration might lapse because many drivers don’t drive their motorcycles in the winter. So, be sure to take your motorcycle for inspection and registration when the weather is good.
Plates and Registration
If you want to register your newly purchased motorcycle, bring the following documents to the town clerk’s office:
- Title application (blue town clerk copy).
- Bill of Sale.
- Title assigned to you as the buyer.
You have to pay the registration fees and taxes payable to the town clerk. You can pay the motorcycle registration fees directly to the town clerk. You will be issued with new motorcycle plates, if that municipality offers them.
If that municipality doesn’t have plates for your motorcycle, you will need to visit your local DMV office and give them your application. You will be asked to provide documents to prove your identity and place of residency.
You can also opt for special vanity plates to mount on your motorcycle. You will need to try Plate Check before you proceed with requesting them.
If you are a new resident in New Hampshire, you must register and title your motorcycle within 30 days of obtaining residency. The process of motorcycle registration and titling for new residents is easy.
You must take your motorcycle for inspection within 10 days of registration. You will need to schedule an appointment with an inspection officer from a DMV approved inspection station. You have to show your new motorcycle registration with decals in order to get your motorcycle inspected.
Inspection is necessary because it ensures that all the motorcycles are roadworthy. They will look carefully at your motorcycle’s brakes, electrical system, tires, exhaust, handles and other parts before issuing you with an inspection certificate.
If there are any broken parts or faults on your motorcycle, they will ask you to fix them before your cycle passes inspection. If your motorcycle passes inspection, an inspection sticker will be placed on your motorcycle.
You will get a renewal notice from the town clerk notifying you to renew registration. If you don’t receive a renewal notice, you have to remember and mark the renewal date on your calendar. It is illegal to ride a motorcycle with expired registration or inspection. You will face hefty fines if you are caught. So you will need to renew your registration before the expiry date.