Last Updated on March 22, 2018 by Jason Mason
New Jersey law defines a motorcycle as any vehicle with a seat, saddle or a platform where a person operating it sits or stands. All tricycles (three-wheeled vehicles) are also categorized under motorcycles. So if you own a motorcycle cycle of any kind in New Jersey, you must obtain motorcycle registration and title it before you operate it.
How to Register Your Motorcycle
You will need to go in person to your local Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) Agency in order to get motorcycle registration and title. Make sure that you bring your current title or the manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin. If the motorcycle is not titled, ensure that you bring a notarized bill of sale that has been signed by a previous owner.
You must also show proof of insurance and pay the $65 motorcycle registration fee. If your title has a lien you will pay $60, and if there is no lien you will pay $85.
Safety and Emissions
Your motorcycle must also meet the NHTSA safety and emissions standards. It must also meet the safety and emissions standards set by the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA).
During motorcycle registration, the MVC will be required to provide photographic documentation. So you will need to show them color photos of the following:
- NHTSA label.
- EPA Noise Emissions label.
- EPA Exhaust Emissions label.
- Side of the motorcycle.
MVC will also inspect to verify whether you have the following:
- A valid motorcycle license.
- An approved protective helmet.
- Helmets for all passengers.
- An approved goggles or face shield if there is no windscreen on your motorcycle.
The state also conducts safety inspection on your motorcycle. When your motorcycle is inspected, the MVC will ask you to provide your motorcycle driver’s license, proof of insurance and current documents. Then the following items on your motorcycle will be inspected:
- Seat, footrests and handholds.
- Front and rear wheel brakes.
- Steering, wheel alignment and suspension.
- Red rear light and reflector.
- Headlight and Stoplight.
- Rearview mirror.
- Exhaust system.
- License plates with valid decal.
Motorized Bicycles (Mopeds)
A motorized bicycle commonly referred to as a moped, is a pedal bicycle with a helper motor. Just like your motorcycle, you must also register, title and insure your moped. The registration fee for a moped is $15. The process of registering a moped is almost similar to that of motorcycle registration, except that a moped does not require inspections.
For your motorized bicycle to qualify as a moped, it must meet the following:
- It must be a pedal bicycle.
- The motor must be less than 50 cc.
- The brake horsepower must not been more than 1.5.
- Have a speed of 25 MPH or less on a flat surface.