Last Updated on March 22, 2018 by Jason Mason
The process of motorcycle registration in Mississippi is handled the same way as that of registering a car. You must register your motorcycle within 7 days of purchase or face a fine or some penalties. If you are from out-of-state, you must register your motorcycle within 30 days of establishing Mississippi residency.
To apply for motorcycle registration in Mississippi, you will need to go in person to the local County Tax Collector’s office. Make sure you take the following with you:
- Certificate of title, signed over to you by the seller or the manufacturer’s certificate of origin if you purchased the motorcycle from the dealer (new motorcycle).
- Bill of Sale.
- Odometer reading included on the back of the title.
- Appropriate fees. You must pay $14 motorcycle registration fee, sales tax, ad valorem tax and privilege tax. The amount of these taxes depend on your county of residence and your motorcycle sale price.
You must take your motorcycle to any local inspection station to get it inspected. Once your motorcycle passes the inspection, you will be issued with the certificate of inspection. You must take this certificate with you when you visit your local County Tax Collector’s office to register your motorcycle.
Several local tire stores, car dealers and auto shops conduct motorcycle inspection. For more information about motorcycle inspection, call (601) 987-1251.
You have several options when tagging your motorcycle. Tagging fees vary depending on your county of residence and motorcycle sale price. You can also request special tags which come with extra costs.