Last Updated on March 22, 2018 by Jason Mason
The process of motorcycle registration and titling your newly acquired motorcycle in Missouri is the same as that of registering and titling a car.
If you want to apply for motorcycle registration for the first time, you will need to visit your local Department of Revenue office in person to register it. You will need to take the following with you:
- A signed over Certificate of title. If you purchased your motorcycle from the dealer, you will need the Manufacturer’s Statement of Origin (MSO).
- A signed Application for Missouri Title and License. You can order this online.
- If the mileage is not listed on the title, you must complete an Odometer Disclosure Statement.
- A notarized lien release, if applicable. You can use an online order form provided by DOR to request a lien release.
Missouri Titling Fees
- You will need to pay sales tax of 4.225% of your purchase price plus your local sales tax.
- You must also pay $11 title fee. This fee includes $2.50 fee for title processing.
You must title your motorcycle within 30 days of purchase to avoid penalties and late fees. You will face a late registration penalty of $25. This fees doubles for every 30 days you are late for up to $200.
Registering a Motorcycle in Missouri
You can apply for motorcycle registration at the time of titling it or do it on a different occasion. Your motorcycle registration fee varies depending on your bike’s taxable horsepower.
You will need to take your motorcycle for safety inspection in order to register your motorcycle. Emissions inspection might be required if you live in emission prone areas.
You must also show proof of insurance when registering your motorcycle.
You can renew your Missouri license plates at any local DOR office. Renewals can also be done online or by mail.