Last Updated on March 22, 2018 by Jason Mason
If you own a motorcycle in Delaware, you must apply for motorcycle registration in order to register it and to operate it on the roads. You will need to follow the same procedure of registering cars, trucks, vans and other motor vehicles.
Qualification for Motorcycle Registration
To register and title your motorcycle in the state of Delaware, you must be at least 18 years old. If you are younger than 18 years old, you must be accompanied by your parent or legal guardian when registering or titling your motorcycle.
The state requires all motorcycle operators to be financially responsible. You must therefore purchase liability insurance to cover the costs of injury and property damage due to accidents. You must purchase insurance cover from an insurance company that has been licensed by Delaware Insurance Commissioner. When you take your motorcycle to the DMV location for inspection, you must provide proof of insurance which includes:
- Original insurance policy.
- Identification card.
If you don’t have the minimum liability insurance during registration, your motorcycle may not be inspected. If you terminate your insurance after your motorcycle registration, then you will be charged in court for violating the law. If you are found guilty of insurance offense, the court will suspend your motorcycle registration, driver’s license or both. You may also face some penalties which may include a fine or jail term.
Your motorcycle will be inspected by the Delaware DMV office. If you want your motorcycle to pass inspection, it is recommended that you check it thoroughly before taking it for inspection. Essentially, your motorcycle must be in good working condition. You must also install safety features on your motorcycle before taking it for inspection.
Once your motorcycle has passed inspection, the next step is to take it for inspection. You may also apply for a title at the time of registering your motorcycle. If you just bought a used motorcycle, you will need to transfer the title certificate into your name.
To complete registration and titling, you will need to pay $15 registration fee and applicable titling fees.
You will be notified when your motorcycle registration is about to expire. The DMV will send you a renewal notice or call you if they have your phone number on record. Once you receive this notice, you must renew registration within 90 days of your motorcycle registration expiration date.